Goals, blue hair, and purses shaped like chickens

  
Blogging is difficult for me. Not the concept of stringing words into sentences, I pretty much mastered that concept during my tenure as an elementary school student. No, my biggest issue is the banality of my day-to-day goings on. What am I doing each day that is worth documenting? Who would want to read it? I barely want to read it, and I’m incredibly vain. That being said, I want to be a more active contributor to the blogging community, which is sorely lacking in content. So here’s what’s going on with my life right now: 

  • I just finished a book titled “Lit” by Mary Karr. I really liked it. It’s very poetic and poignant. She does a really good job of inviting the reader into the headspace of someone whose life becomes overtaken by alcohol. One of my favorite quotes is: 

“If we talked about the night before, I don’t recall it, which isn’t fair to either of us, for it doesn’t show our reasoned selves paring away at our scared ones. But it’s a neurological fact that the scared self holds on while the reasoned one lets go. The adrenaline that let our ancestors escape the sabertooth tiger sears into the meat of our brains the extraordinary, the loud. The shrieking fight or the out-of-character insult endures forever, while the daily sweetness dissolves like sugar in water.”

  • I started reading Mindy Kaling’s new book “Why Not Me?” Now, I adore Mindy Kaling. I named my idiot dog after her. But this book is not great so far. I’m not going to give up on it yet, mostly because I paid for it.
  • I wrote and submitted my second article to the Anchorage Press. It’s nerve-wracking writing for a serious publication. Serious in the sense that the Anchorage Press is not as ridiculous and goofy as my writing tends to be, which leaves me with the feeling that the editor I’ve been communicating with his going to respond to one of my articles by saying “Um, actually, we’ve reconsidered including you into our paper. Because you’re weird and your writing is stupid.” 
  • My good friend dyed my hair last night. The top is dark brown with a layer of bright blue underneath. I haven’t really seen it, because the bright part is behind my head and I can’t see back there. 
  • I’m starting a 30-day “No Buying Coffee” Challenge today because I went through my bank account history and calculated how much money I spend on coffee shops. There’s something wonderful about going to Starbucks and having the coffee made for me, but after crunching the numbers I’ve decided that this habit is incredibly wasteful and cost ineffective. So I’m going to make coffee. At home. Like a peasant. I   even made myself a fun poster to track my progress. I’ll blog about the success (or failure? no! SUCCESS!) of my 30 Day Challenge in approximately 30 days from now. If I achieve my goal, I decided I can get one thing from my Amazon wish list, like this chicken handbag I’ve had my eyes on. Wish me luck!
2 thoughts on “Goals, blue hair, and purses shaped like chickens

  1. I really like this article. I usually tend to prefer your humor, but I also enjoy your honesty when it comes to your feelings and insecurities. Things like this remind us that you are a whole person. I feel that the paper you write for would be crazy and stupid to turn down your articles. And if they ever did, there would be other publishers who would love to have you, your writing style, and your sense of humor onboard. 20 years from now, when you have 2 books published and you are getting ready to be a keynote speaker at some college, you will look back on this and see how far you’ve come.

    Good luck with the coffee challenge. I’m going back to my red bull.

    Like

  2. I think on you’re fifth paper you need to shop around for a agent…it’s time…the world needs you…people are out there who need a reason to get out of bed and buy expensive coffee…maybe you could make a deal with starbucks…write for them a daily blog…get free coffee….

    Like

Leave a Reply

