My fight with a sleeping, scary man at the dog park. 

Near my apartment there is a lovely park, aptly titled the University Lake Dog Park. Since getting Mindy it has become one of my favorite places. Not only is it extremely gorgeous and fairly well-maintained, it’s one of the only places in Anchorage where you can take your dog off leash. Plus it has the added benefit of providing dogs for my dog to play with so she expends energy and drives me less insane. It’s wonderful. 

Well, yesterday I found myself there midmorning, Mindy in tow. We were walking through the parking area when we came upon this gorgeous husky who was tied up outside of a sedan. It was tied in one of those retractable leashes with the really thin cord, and the cord was wrapped around its legs and body. I approach the dog who greeted me warmly, but was obviously in a lot of discomfort about being completely wrapped up in the cord. I looked in the window of the car it was tied to and I saw three men in their 20s who were fast asleep. It was actually a really weird scene. 

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not the world’s best dog owner. But what was happening to that dog was officially super messed up, and I was pissed. I knocked on the door and yelled “excuse me!” to the sleeping idiot in the front seat. No response. “EXCUSE ME!” I shouted, knocking louder. The dude lazily opened one eye and looked at me. “Um, hi, your dog is wrapped up in its cord. This is super unsafe and also super messed up.” And you know what the guy did? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. He closed his eyes and went back to sleep. Furious, I untangled the dog and shouted into the car, “hey! I untangled  your dog! Maybe you should take care of your animal!” And walked off with Mindy. 

We spent over an hour at the dog park, and the husky was out there the entire time. His leash had very little slack, but he had walked over to the nearest little patch of dirt and was sitting on it looking as sad as possible. After we were done at the dog park, I walked back up to the dog and gave it a few of Mindy’s treats and bones. I know it’s impolite to give another dog treats without asking the owner, but I was way past that and they were still sound asleep anyway. A woman walked by and commented on the fact that the dog was sitting there. We shared a few “what the hecks” and “this is so messed ups”. 

Finally the woman knocked on the window, waking up the three guys. And they were MAD. Almost as mad as I was at this point. He rolled down his window, and in my calmest, most mature voice, I screeched “HEY! YOU! What do you think you’re doing?! You can’t leave your dog like this!” And he yells back at me “I don’t know why you keep knocking on my damn window!” The other woman leaves at this point, apparently confident enough in my abilitIes to handle the street justice on my own. I decide that continuing to engage in a heated discussion in a parking lot with a scary, sleepy dude was a good idea and continued on. “Dude, I know it’s your freaking nap time, but you need to take care of this dog! You can’t just leave him out here tied up for hours!” 

The man, fully awake now, opens his door and shouts, “I don’t know who the f*** you think you’re talking to you!” I decide that this is my opportunity to make a graceful exit, as he got out of his car to lovingly attend to his dog. Or grab a shiv from his trunk, anybody’s guess. Needless to say, he and I glared at each other until I pulled away.

And that is how I made an enemy at the dog park.

Leave a Reply

